Almost halfway through week three. Everything is going along fine, to sum it up in a word.
Yesterday a friend and I walked the mall and had lunch at Panera. Such a safe place for me to eat. Tomato Basil soup and a bit of chicken salad. PERFECT!
Today I went with Larry to his mandatory attendance at an orientation for the weight loss surgery. There wasn't much new news for him to hear, having gone through it with me, what's there to tell? He got a big heaping dose of experience.
We had lunch after at another great choice for me. Cottage cheese, very smooth lobster bisque soup and shrimp salad. Frankly, since I've upped my water intake to meet the required gallon a day, I'm just not that hungry. So it was more soup than anything else. I had 3 bites of the cottage cheese and the same of the shrimp salad.
During the orientation the speaker made a reference to how getting the band surgery is more like brain surgery in that after you get your band, something shuts off in your brain. I gave this some thought and she's SO right. I realized that I haven't even thought about going to McDonald's for breakfast (something I used to LOVE to do) or binging on anything unhealthy. Last night, I brought home BBQ for the boys, smelled the french fries all the way home and yes, acknowledged the aroma but didn't like the idea of putting that mess in my body. Which THEN lead me to think about what I'm making the boys eat with all this food I'm bringing home instead of preparing for them. If I wouldn't eat it, why should I expect them to? I'm going to be changing that up here shortly. Frankly, I don't feel quite ready to start handling too much food. I feel like I'd be fine after my "brain surgery" but I don't want to push it. I DO want them to start eating healthier. I don't bring home fast food, per say but it's loaded with sodium and plenty of other unhealthy stuff, last night's chopped pork sandwiches weren't too bad but the french fries could have been replaced with baked potatoes easily enough. One step at a time, right?
At the mall yesterday I picked out some cute tops for our away tournament this weekend. My friend suggested trying an 18/20 top on. At my top weight, I was buying 30/32. I wonder if normal weighted people are even aware that clothes go beyond a size 18. Avenue shops carry up to a 30/32. I was opting for this size because the tops are long enough to cover my heinous belly. Which is shrinking little by little. The 18/20 top I was admiring was a baby doll cut so it was generous around with a stretchy bodice. I brought a 20/22 and a 22/24 with us to the dressing room. I ended up with the 18/20!! I cried to be honest. It felt SO good to be a few sizes away from the largest size Lane Bryant makes. For a while, I wasn't even shopping in Lane Bryant because their tops only go to 26/28 and their clothes are more traditionally cut than the ones at Avenue. God, it's so complicated being fat!!! I have also dropped 2 pant sizes!! Not quite an 18/20 yet but I'm getting there. I'm getting there. I'm getting there!
It's just a daily process. Gastric bypass recipients compared to lap band recipeints typically lose their weight alarmingly fast with a pretty dismal regain percentage. Lap banders lose more slowly but tend to keep the weight off longer. Plus, banders have less side effects than gastric bypass patients. No hair loss, less problematic bowels etc. So, I think I'm sitting pretty.
I also treated myself to some sterling silver jewelry today. Pieces that, like everything else I've bought lately would never have fit me before. Obese as I was, I could rarely find off the rack jewelry that would fit on my wrist, neck or fingers. 2 years ago Larry bought me a beautiful tennis bracelet that I had to return because it was about an inch short for my wrist, or my wrist was about an inch fat for the bracelet! It killed me to return it. Wish now I had kept it. But I never, in a million years thought I'd be where I am today.
In all honesty, during the orientation today, I was so relieved and happy to be on the other side of the surgery. The speaker asked me to contribute a bit on my experience and that felt SO good.
I'm looking forward to my fill (obsessing is more like it) on 4/7. Week 4-6 will be include foods in the soft food catagory! After that? Experimenting with flaky meats and a much more "normal" diet and anticipation of great things to come.